Thursday, October 1, 2015

Day Three: Hate my mornings!

I am still angry about my morning routine. I am still trying to figure it out. I did the coffee with Pu-Erh Tea and coconut oil. This is gross and I won't be doing it again.

Today I finally pooped (tmi?) but it was a lucky poop! (My daughter calls them lucky if you only have to wipe twice) However, I feel like a cold may be coming on. Is it a cold or just a detox feeling?

Whole30 timeline says that day 2-3 is hangover day and day 4-5 is kill everything day. I don't feel like a hangover but the cold symptoms could be the detox. Time will tell. I am exhausted but I still went to pilates today. Super hard work out and I know I will be sore tomorrow. I had plenty of energy to complete the workout,but once I got home the living room floor looked very inviting and a quick lay down was required :)

Steve says he is just wiped out. He is surprised since he has been cutting back on everything before the official start day. The one thing he didn't cut back on was his evening beer. He only has one a night, but that could be causing him to be exhausted.

I did my nightly routine of la croix water and almonds with dried apricots. I wonder if this is a bad habit that I am still perpetuating with different foods. I know I am not always hungry when I have my evening snack but I love the routine. One main goal of this challenge was to change my habits. I have to decide if this evening routine is good for me or bad. I was hoping without the wine I wouldn't snack so much. It is true that I am snacking less and with healthier items but I am still staying up later than I should (Damn social media) and maybe eating out of boredom. I am really torn here...quality of life is just as important as having a healthy body. My evening routine makes me happy. Going to have to try a few nights without the regular routine and see how I feel.

Breakfast: Same as yesterday; scotch egg with salsa

Lunch: This was a highlight...very beautiful and tasty. Roosters uses local produce when it is available and the tomatoes are to die for. Roosters made me a Chicken salad stuffed Utah tomato. Using the chicken wraps meat instead of the mayo based chicken salad they usually use.

Dinner was same as last night: Pork tenderloin with same sides. With pork for breakfast each morning and twice in a row for dinner, I am feeling pork overload. May need to figure an alternating breakfast menu.

Day two - Coffee is Gross

Damn it, my coffee is gross. I did the Americno with the same tea and almond milk and it is just bitter and gross. But I am drinking it. Maybe I'll acquire a taste for black coffee or maybe I need to consider ditching coffee altogether. I don't know...

Otherwise the day was fine. I haven't had a bowel movement in in two days. Not sure why, but feeling bloated.

Breakfast was another scotch egg, cut up and topped with salsa. Much better with salsa. I am thinking I will try beef if we do the scotch eggs again. There are little bits of hard cartilage in the ground pork that is not great. Well Fed has a Mexican version of the scotch egg that I will use for the next week. I also think I need to consider adding some veggies to the meat?



 Lunch at Roosters: Chicken Lettuce wraps with guacamole
Dinner by Steve: Pork tenderloin with cauliflower pilaf, spinach and Moroccan dipping sauce from Well Fed! The sauce made this dish for sure! I am a sauce person, usually cream sauce, so Steve has been amazing with making sauces for everything!

Tonight I went to the movies with girlfriends. I did not sneak in whiskey or have popcorn! Major will power! I did sneak in a la croix water and almonds with dried apricots. The move was the Intern with Robert Di Nero....I think the movie would have benefited from drinking a whiskey!