We have been using the cookbook "Well Fed: Paleo Recipes for People Who Love to Eat" and have practiced many meals all of which have been successful. I did not try out new coffee ideas. I do not like black coffee. I have a home made Dirty Chai every morning. I use the TAZO concentrate, espresso and a Natural Organic creamer. For Whole30 most of my internet research said how fantastic coffee with Coconut Oil and Coconut milk tastes. So I just made the assumption that it would be good. Bad assumption!First Attempt - Espresso, 1 tablespoon coconut oil, 1 tablespoon coconut milk from the can. Blended with a blender. Literally gagged!
Second Attempt - Espresso and coconut milk...skipped the oil, wondering if that gave it the gag factor. But no...it was the coconut milk. Second attempt down the drain
Third Attempt - For this one I went back to the google board. I found the bullet proof method. This called for coconut oil and ghee. I used a tablespoon of ghee and small teaspoon of oil. This time I also threw in a vanilla bean. After blending it I knew immediately the vanilla bean was a bad idea, I now had little black bits floating on top of my coffee that were not pleasant to drink. The flavor on this one was much better. But couldn't get past the black bits. Third attempt down the drain.
At this point I gave up. I had to get to work. But I need that coffee or I know a headache would set me back today. So I stopped at Target on my way to work and browsed the tea section. I ending up picking up some Numi Organic Chocolate Pur-Erh tea and compliant almond milk. And would you believe my luck...there was a Starbucks in the Target right next to my check out lane. I ordered an Americana (Espresso and water) threw in the tea bag and let it steep for 3 minutes then added some almond milk. Compared to my first three attempts this was delicious. Again, with how disgusting my first three coffees were and with my expectations so low, it may not be that good. I will find out tomorrow when I start with this concoction.
For Breakfast I had Scotch Eggs that my husband prepared yesterday using the Well Fed recipe...boy do these need cheese! (After wine, cheese is going to be my biggest struggle.) But maybe on tomorrows I will chop it up and add some salsa. Honestly had a hard time choking this down. I am not a breakfast eater. I always just have my coffee in the morning and don't eat until lunch. But I ate it...and when 2 o'olocked rolled around I found that I wasn't even hungry.
Dinner was a totally new experience also. Steve made Spaghetti squash, topped with a tomato meat sauce and roasted veggies. It was actually good!
The evening is my biggest challenge. My typically routine after everyone is in bed I power up HBO GO to watch a show (currently watching the Sopranos) with a glass of wine or two and a snack of whatever ales me. Usually cheese and olives, or some extra dinner left overs. This is the habit I need to change....I don't necessarily want to change because I enjoy my evening routine. But I know I am drinking a lot of empty calories and make stupid snack choices after that first glass of wine. So tonight, I cracked open a La Croix water and had a snack of almonds and dried apricots. It was okay...I survived. My goal was to hit the hay at 10:30 which would give me 8 hours of sleep, but I didn't get to bed until 11:30. Tomorrow I will try to make the 10:30 mark.


No comments:
Post a Comment